top of page

Weekly Report 1 ~ 'I'm So Excited'

Weekly Report 1 ~ 'I'm So Excited'

The first week of ISM has finally come to an end, but my levels of excitement and anxiety have just started growing. This past week was incredibly overwhelming as my teacher gave the class the whole ISM agenda and assignment due dates for the entire first six weeks on the second day of school. However, after sitting down and re-evaluating what needed to be done, adding things to my planner and making a weekly to-do list, it was discovered that every assignment completed this year will get me one step closer to accomplishing my goals, and prepare me for a successful and professional career that I am passionate about.

Some of the assignments completed this week included finding a quote and writing a mission statement that would describe the class’s personal goals for ISM and keep everyone motivated as the year went on. Finding the perfect quote was really important because knowing the challenges about to come, it will be crucial to have something encouraging to look at when things get hard. Gabrielle Bernstein once said, “allow your passion to become your purpose and one day it will become your profession.” This stood out amongst other quotes because it described the reason ISM was an interest of mine in the first place. Having a job that is evolved from passion is something I aspire to have in the future.

One thing I struggle with and need to work on for this week's presentation, is public speaking. Being quite an outgoing and social person, it comes as a surprise to people that something as simple as talking in front of an audience would be one of my weaknesses. Over the summer my teacher recommended that our class should read the novel Talk Like TED: The 9 Public-Speaking Secrets of the World’s Top Minds by Carmine Gallo, which would help the class in general public speaking. So far, the novel has emphasized the contents of the foundation for a professional speech and how to engage and persuade one’s audience through passion, pathos and storytelling. In order for a successful presentation on Friday, applying the knowledge gathered from my novel to the real world is essential.

Even though the second week of school has only just started, I cannot wait to put my dreams to the test and see where ISM will take me in my career.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page