top of page

Weekly Report 8 ~ 'Age of Worry'

Weekly Report 8 ~ 'Age of Worry'

Another week of ISM has gone by and I still haven’t gotten myself an interview. After rapidly cold calling last week and the week prior, all I received were emails and voice recordings telling me to leave a message at the beep. I knew getting an interview was going to be difficult, but after almost every one of my friends and classmates have not only booked an interview but actually left school and gone to meet with their professionals in person, I feel extremely left out and behind. This past week I have been emailing nonstop, contacting the professionals whose names I received through receptionists. I have gotten few replies and in those responses that I did receive, I was told that they would not be available until November. This has really put me at a stand still in my studies because not only am I not learning as much as my classmates, I am on my 8th research assessment. I can only learn so much from articles and with my friends doing their first and second interview assessments, I again feel left out and behind.

Also this past week we completed our S.M.A.R.T goals that will help us accomplish more in ISM this year by setting an exact date on when it our goals to be completed. One of my smart goals was to go on an interview before November 1st. This way I can start writing my interview assessments and begin conducting more research from primary sources. By conducting an interview before this time, I will be able to learn more about music marketing from a new type of source as well as gain more insight on how the professionals got into their field in the first place.

Overall, although this past week has been rough, I know everything I do and don’t do in ISM this year are learning experiences that can help me in the future. By not getting interviews right away I have been able to learn and practice how to write stronger and more professional emails, which will majorly benefit me in college and in my future career. Even though my studies may not be improving right now, I am going to continue to stick to my goal of getting an interview by November, which will hopefully put me back on track with the rest of the class and get me where I need to be in my studies.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page