top of page

Weekly Report 10 ~ 'Happy'

Weekly Report 10 ~ 'Happy'

This past week of ISM I was able to complete my first interview. I met with Travis Hill, the marketing and promotions director for iHeartMedia Dallas, who provided me with information from all aspects of the industry. He gave me insight on what education and major was best to receive prior to going into a music marketing profession, and explained to me that psychology was a very important class to take in my high school and college career because of how it revealed the many different ways people's minds worked; vital information to have for marketing in any field.

In addition to this he told me what a marketers job was and how to tell if their work is effective or not. He stated that a his job as the director of marketing was to be a storyteller and tell a story to their specific audience. If he cannot make an audience or a group of people feel or want something by telling a story through an advertisement or commercial, he is not doing his job.

These things really stood out to me as a student going into this field because I was able to get advice on how to eventually become successful through my education and work ethic. Knowing what majors, colleges, and classes to start looking for in a university early on is extremely beneficial to me as a junior in high school because I now am able to successfully plan out my future in school and in be able to achieve my goals as a young professional.

With just one interview completed, I have already learned so much about what my dream job entails as well as how to better prepare myself to get there. With this knowledge, I can use it to go above and beyond in my research as well as in life and future career outside of school. Mr. Hill was really able to help me become wiser and feel more comfortable going into this profession, so I am especially excited to further my studies, research and original work in ISM and to see where it will take me.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page