top of page

Weekly Report 11 ~ 'Perfect'

Weekly Report 11 ~ 'Perfect'

Looking back on this week, I probably had the most beneficial and exciting week yet. I went on two interviews back to back with Mr. Wise from Bass Hall and Ms. Barbe from Toyota Music Factory. Both interviews were really good learning experiences even though they both worked in different aspects of the music/entertainment marketing industry.

When I met with Mr. Wise who was the director of promotions, communications and sales at Bass Hall, he was able to inform me on how booking and promoting a specific act or show worked. He showed me his event calendar which was dated all the way to 2021 with shows. I learned that booking is a huge risk and requires extreme attention to detail because one mistake can ruin the entire schedule years in advance, but it was really interesting to see how much work went into the planning and ‘behind-the-scenes’ work for the shows.

The day after my meeting with Mr. Wise, I met with Ms. Barbe at the Pavilion at the brand new Toyota Music Factory in Irving, and she was able to give me a private tour of the whole venue. Seeing two shows there already prior to the tour, it was really interesting to see backstage, including the dressing rooms and offices people don’t typically get to see when they go see a show. While walking around the venue with Ms. Barbe, I asked her about her education prior to her career as a marketing director. She went to Texas State and received a bachelor’s in psychology and communications. She, and many other interviewees before her, informed me on how important these classes and majors were to take because of how necessary they are for a career in marketing. With this information, I can be somewhat more prepared going into college and can take classes like these to help me in my career in the future.

Overall, both interviews were a really exciting experience that gave me knowledge about my industry I didn’t know before. I look forward to using this information in the future and to see where it will take me in both ISM and in my future career.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page