top of page

Weekly Report 13 ~ 'How Long'

Weekly Report 13 ~ 'How Long'

It is week 13 of ISM and the progress I have made already is unbelievable. Not only have I gotten to speak with four amazing professionals about their career, I found one of them to be my mentor and work with throughout the year. My first mentor visit was this past Thursday and in only an hour we were able to read through the entire mentor handbook and start planning for my original and final work. We made a spreadsheet for brainstorming our ideas for a potential concert taking place in Frisco in the spring. We came up with questions to ask the venue, and a list of things to consider when booking and marketing the show. These included the capacity, ticketing options, age limit, location, atmosphere, etc. We eventually decided on the small outdoor venue and food truck park ‘The Rail Yard’ off of main street because we figured it was small enough to sell out and ticket for in addition to being local and family friendly. However after we made a plan for me to call The Railyard the next week and start to get everything set up, I got a call from my mentor saying she had a better idea for my final product.

She told me that instead of me booking, producing and marketing my own mini concert with local bands and students as the act, she wanted me to market a real show at her venue Granada Theater. I loved her idea immediately and am so excited she was willing to provide me with this kind of opportunity. By being able to market for an actual concert at a real and working venue is the best possible experience I could have going into this area of study. It will not only prepare me for my future career but it will set me apart from others getting into this field as well, giving me a better chance of getting a job or position. Again, I am beyond excited to experience this with my mentor, and I cannot wait to see where it will take me in my future.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page